Reviews - The Old Vic Guest House

Bed and breakfast review - Rating 4/5

Very friendly and clean bed and breakfast . Will definitely stay again xx

Reviewer:Mrs. Teresa Kerins | Sat 23rd Sep 2017


Ms - Rating 5/5

Thank you very much for your friendly and caring behavior. All the best! Maria

Reviewer:Maria Douka | Sat 23rd Sep 2017


Highly recommended - Rating 4/5

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent visit to York. The Old Vic is perfectly located for walking to the city centre and Terry and Julie looked after us very well. There is a relaxed atmosphere at the Old Vic, breakfast was a brilliant start to the day and local knowledge willingly given. We thought the bathroom in room 4 was a little tired as well as cramped and we would suggest changing the bed duvet to a king size as the one provided hardly covered the two of us. Despite the aforementioned we would happily stay at the Old Vic on our next visit to York.

Reviewer:Mrs. Wendy Wilkinson | Sat 16th Sep 2017


Great stay in York! - Rating 5/5

Loved The Old Vic!The hospitality was top notch. Terry and Julie are gracious hosts and the rooms were spotless. Location was good. We love to walk and if walking on the river path or the road to town, we were very happy.We highly recommend The Old Vic!

Reviewer:Peter and Jill Oswald | Sat 16th Sep 2017


2 night stay - Rating 4/5

Had a lovely stay, staff were friendly and welcoming,

Reviewer:mark gibbon | Mon 4th Sep 2017


Lovely warm b&b - Rating 4/5

Lovely warm friendly place to stay.

Reviewer:Sharon Briscoe | Mon 21st Aug 2017


LovelyPlace to stay- Rating 5/5

The Old Vic guest house is an excellent place to stay, the room was spotless,it was nice and warm and the veggie breakfast was outstanding and filled us up way past lunch! The owners were very friendly and helpful and genuinely cared about guests.I Would definitely recommend it and would love to go back.

Reviewer:Sasha lakeman | Sun 20th Aug 2017


Short stay - Rating 4/5

warm clean tidy quiet big breakfast good accomodation. Parking not great.

Reviewer:Mr. Robert Donnelly | Tue 8th Aug 2017


\"just beautiful\" - Rating 5/5

our stay was very comfortable, rooms were clean with tea/coffee facilities.Icing on the plate was delicious veg breakfast!!!!Owners are friendly and very welcoming.We will definately visit again.

Reviewer:Kiran N Dattani | Fri 4th Aug 2017


The old vic guest house york - Rating 4/5

We stayed for one night made to feel very welcome room nice and clean breakfast wonderful enjoyable stay will return.

Reviewer:mrs sharon holmes | Fri 4th Aug 2017


Fantastic - Rating 5/5

Stayed over one night at this lpvely welcoming guest house.It is conveniently located just a 15 min walk in to town or 5 minutes on a bus.The room was great and the most comfortable bed ive ever had.would definately stay here on our next visit to York. It was very reasonably priced too. We didnt meet julie but Terry and Kayley were really lovely and friendly,like they had known you years.

Reviewer:Caroline Porton | Mon 24th Jul 2017


Great - Rating 5/5

We were very welcome and had a lovely light clean double room. We slept well and came down in the morning to a great breakfast thanks to Julie

Reviewer:Brian Giltrow | Thu 20th Jul 2017


Top b&b- Rating 4/5

This is a return trip friends family atmosphere would recommend to other people too stay breakfast is quality sets you up for a busy day in York Thx for everything :)

Reviewer:Mr. Mark Winspear | Mon 17th Jul 2017


Holiday - Rating 3/5

Friendly staff. Easy 15 minute walk to city centre.

Reviewer:Mr. Ulv Gerhard Lassen | Sat 15th Jul 2017


Lovely bed and breakfast - Rating 5/5

Lovely comfy rooms. Very friendly and helpful owners. Breakfast to die for and just a very all round pleasure of an experience.

Reviewer:Mr. John Hannah | Sat 15th Jul 2017


very nice - Rating 5/5

Very nice hotel,nice comfy bed,nice and clean very good breakfast. 10 min walk by the river to city.

Reviewer:Mr. ralph dommett | Thu 13th Jul 2017


Great - Rating 5/5

We were very welcome and had a lovely light clean double room. We slept well and came down in the morning to a great breakfast thanks to Julie

Reviewer:Brian Giltrow | Wed 12th Jul 2017


Two night stay - Rating 5/5

Great place to stay. Hospitality was excellent and I would highly recommend the full English breakfast. Would come again.

Reviewer:Mr. Simon Smith | Mon 10th Jul 2017


Dante Races - Rating 5/5

Very nice guest house and welcoming.Good nights sleep and breakfast the following morning.Recommend, good value.

Reviewer:Mr. Mark Hurry | Sun 21st May 2017


A week in York - Rating 4/5

This was our first visit to York together in 25 years and we couldn\'t have asked for a better place to stay. The room met our needs and the breakfast was to die for. The hotel was close enough to both the river and the city centre that we regularly walked into town that way which took only about 15 minutes! And if we didn\'t want to walk the no. 7 bus went from the top of the road and only costs £1 each.If wehad a beef it was the postioning of the television - we couldn\'t both sit in comfort on the bed to watch so one of us had to sit on the \'dining\' chair in the room to get a proper view, but who goes on holiday to watch TV?

Reviewer:Mr. Andy Watson | Fri 19th May 2017


Best value guest house- Rating 4/5

Brilliant stay again not far from centre breakfast lovelywill be back for a 3rd staylater this year thank you

Reviewer:Mrs. kelly kidd | Wed 19th Apr 2017


Weekend break - Rating 5/5

Beautiful hotel, very comfy room with ensuite, excellent breakfast and very friendly staff would definitely recommend to all 😃

Reviewer:Mr. Paul Morris | Tue 18th Apr 2017


A great base for a York Visit - Rating 5/5

Great location for walks into town along the River Ouse or catching the bus to town or to the Designer Outlet.Clean, comfortable, warm rooms, a very good nights\' sleep with a very full breakfast to set you up for a day of walking and sight-seeing.A repeat booking later in the year is a must.

Reviewer:Mrs. Sharon Taylor | Wed 12th Apr 2017


Clean and confortable - Rating 5/5

Just right. Friendly and genuine hosts;comfortable, clean rooms for my daughter and I;and most importantly, beds that you can sleep on, no dip in the middle, or squeaking springs! And a breakfast you actually want. Great value!

Reviewer:Mr. Colin McCall | Mon 10th Apr 2017


Excellent - Rating 5/5

We had an excellent couple of nights staying at the Old Vic.Clean,comfortable great food and extremely friendly.Wouldn\'t hesitate staying again or recommending it to anyone.David and Lynne

Reviewer:Mrs. Lynne Aitken | Sat 25th Mar 2017


Weekend break - Rating 4/5

All good nice and handy for riverside walk into city. Great breakfast and warm and clean room. Will recommend and stay again if visiting York in the future. Cheers Rod

Reviewer:Mr. Roderick Charnock | Tue 14th Mar 2017


Best place to stay affordable- Rating 5/5

Excellent service , lovely room friendly hosts brilliant breakfast

Reviewer:Mrs. Susan Kirk | Mon 13th Mar 2017


Lovely stay - Rating 4/5

Lovely warm welcome, even let us check in early, bonus for christmas shopping, and plenty of choice for breakfast and cooked to order, enjoyed our stay

Reviewer:Ms. Tracy Oneill | Thu 15th Dec 2016


staying at the old vic - Rating 5/5

Lovely b and b lovely place to stay.fab breakfast

Reviewer:Mrs. Diane Cochrane | Thu 24th Nov 2016


visiting - Rating 5/5

Fab lovelt place to stay. Deffo stay again

Reviewer:Mrs. Diane Cochrane | Thu 24th Nov 2016


Great clean friendly guest house - Rating 5/5

Welcoming ,very clean room, comfy bed, tasty breakfast and within 10 minutes walk of city centre. Have booked another stay next month

Reviewer:Mrs. Linda Laing | Thu 10th Nov 2016


little gem - Rating 5/5

We stayed here for one night in a double room. Room was lovely, very spacious and clean, also extremely comfy bed.Had a yummy cooked breakfast in the gorgeous breakfast room. Great location too.

Reviewer:Mrs. suzanne smith | Sun 6th Nov 2016


the oldvic - Rating 5/5

went there with my wife for her 50thwe was met at the door by a very nice friendly lady named julie who owns it... i would highly recommendas lovely bnb... breakfast was lovely and stay was very very pleasent we are planning going again marchthanks for a great stay .

Reviewer:Mr. paul legge | Thu 3rd Nov 2016


B & B stay 30/10 to 01/11 - Rating 5/5

My stay was clean &comfortable, friendly people and good value. Convenient for the city.Paul Hunt.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul HUNT | Thu 3rd Nov 2016


City break - Rating 5/5

We have just stayed here for the weekend and r stay was lovely soon as we arrived we were met with a very warm welcome from Julie and Leo there friendly dog it is a very homely guest house our room was very clean and comfortable the first day we went into the center on the no 7 bus from the end of road the next couple of days we walked along the river into the center it takes about15 minutes we would definitely recommend it and will probably stay are next visit to York.

Reviewer:Mr. martin mccallum | Mon 17th Oct 2016


york stay - Rating 5/5

I really enjoyed my stay in York. People were very friendly, lots of attractions, I liked my room in this Victorian house, decorated in harmony with spooky and historical character of York. Definitely I will visit York again.

Reviewer:Miss. Dorota Dudkowska | Thu 13th Oct 2016


Comfortable and Convenient - Rating 4/5

Have just completed a 4 night stay at this Guest house. Would recommend for it\'s comfort and convenience. Ideally placed for riverside walk (20 minutes) or bus ( 5-10 minutes ) into centre. Number 7 bus every 10 minutes at end of road. Very reasonable rates and enormous breakfasts available. Friendly and helpful owners.

Reviewer:Mr. David Stevens | Thu 13th Oct 2016


Lovely, Friendly Place To Stay - Rating 4/5

Friendly greeting on arrival, especially from Leo the beautiful spaniel. Within walking distance of town centre, but there\'s also the number 7 bus which runs every 10 minutes, and you can get from train station. Quite a few stairs but was offered help with cases. Breakfast very good. The only two things I would suggest is a full length mirror in room and a shelf for toiletries in shower. Would certainly stay again. Thank you for your lovely hospitality.

Reviewer:Mrs. Carolyn Herdman | Mon 10th Oct 2016


Outstanding! - Rating 5/5

Me and my boyfriend recenently stayed here for one night with breakfast. Having never stayed in a guest house before we were so pleased with our stay and would definitely stay again. The service was fabulous and the breakfast was amazing. Thank you for a brilliant stay.

Reviewer:Miss. Joyce Quinn | Mon 3rd Oct 2016


Very nice 😀 - Rating 5/5

Had a lovely stay here hosts who are very helpful make sure to take some sausages for there friendly dog Leo breakfast was just right if you wanted more cooked stuff no problem had a problem with shower sortedwith a new room in about 10 mns which I find greatrooms are not very big but just visiting for a few days was lovely

Reviewer:Mrs. Billie-jean Mansfield | Sun 2nd Oct 2016


York stay - Rating 4/5

Very welcoming and clean breakfast was lovely and nothhing was too much trouble

Reviewer:Mrs. EstherDuncan | Sat 1st Oct 2016


We absolutely loved it :) - Rating 5/5

Beautiful place, warm, friendly &welcoming hosts, lovely breakfast. We very much felt at home here and it was part of a special trip that meant a lot to us. We will definitely be wanting to stay here again in the future and would certainly recommend it.

Reviewer:Miss. Rebecca Smith | Tue 27th Sep 2016


york 3 day stay - Rating 4/5

3 day stay at the old vic guest house a nice couplejulia and terry they were very helpfull run the placeclean comfortable spacious room good breafast nothing to much trouble for them bus at bottom of road in to york (enjoy)

Reviewer:Mr. barry goldsmith | Sat 24th Sep 2016


Great value guest house - Rating 5/5

We did travel as a group of adults but also had our 19 month old granddaughter with us for one night, a high chair and cot were provided. The rooms are comfortable and nicely decorated with tea and coffee tray. The house is a beautiful period house. The food at breakfast was lovely, plentiful and lots of choice. There is free wifi also.

Reviewer:Mrs. Karen McPhee | Wed 21st Sep 2016


excellent stay at the vic- Rating 5/5

Had a great time at the Vic will go back to stay very friendly and helpful room very clean meals very filling will be recommending to friends and family who want a break in York

Reviewer:Mr. PaulHuggins | Tue 20th Sep 2016


Comfortable, clean, ideally located. Good value for money. - Rating 4/5

We will definitely stay here again.This guest house is within a short walk of the town and has street parking. Good choice of pubs within 5 minutes walking distance. Room was very clean and bed nice and comfortable - good night sleep was had by both of us. Nice breakfast to set us up for the day too.

Reviewer:Mr. JOH HEPPLE | Thu 15th Sep 2016


Enjoyable stay - Rating 4/5

We were made to feel very welcome, the room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. Ideally located, just a short walk by the river to the city centre. We would not hesitate to recommend a stay here.

Reviewer:Mrs. Annette Jones | Fri 26th Aug 2016


Race weekend - Rating 4/5

Lovely and clean friendly people breakfast really nice would love too stay again

Reviewer:Mr. Mark Winspear | Mon 22nd Aug 2016


Overnight stay - Rating 4/5

Down for the races and had an overnight stay in Old Vic.Lovely welcoming couple, very knowledgeable on local area and amenities, clean room and handy for race course.Free street parking a bonus.What more could you ask for?Will be back when in York.

Reviewer:Mr. Russell provan | Mon 22nd Aug 2016


Nice Surprise - Rating 4/5

Having booked this room at the last minute we were surprised to find a big comfy bedroom the biggest we have stayed in.This is a very warm &friendly B&B,the breakfast was super,enjoyed our stay .

Reviewer:Mrs. LESLEY Wiltshire | Sun 21st Aug 2016


Fantastic place- Rating 5/5

Wonderfoul place, near all atraccion, very cleaning, fantastic breakfastThanks family

Reviewer:Mr. JOSEFA CASTELLANO | Sat 13th Aug 2016


Super Stay - Rating 5/5

Perfect stay in York...Perfect location away from center but close enough to walk...Very nice and friendly host family...

Reviewer:Mr. Jes Lindholm Jensen | Wed 3rd Aug 2016


Frequent vistors - Rating 5/5

The old vic is friendly and the rooms are lovely! The breakfast is fantastic! I\'ve stayed here with my mam several times and we love it! Will be back soon!

Reviewer:Miss. RebeccaPowell | Mon 1st Aug 2016


Lovely and friendly couple - Rating 5/5

I had a lovely stay with Julie and Terry.Very friendly and helpful.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jennifer Khan | Fri 22nd Jul 2016


Perfect really. - Rating 5/5

A short walk to the centre of York, beautifully clean and comfortable, superb breakfast and a gorgeous springer spaniel called Leo. Perfect for a short stay and we will be coming back!

Reviewer:Mr. Michael Copeland | Thu 14th Jul 2016


Great weekend away - Rating 5/5

Very nice hotel.clean very friendly. Close to river and about 15 minute walk into centre Good breakfast will definitely stay agian

Reviewer:Mrs. Barbara Whittam| Tue 12th Jul 2016


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Thank you, I had a lovely stay with you in room 7, Julie was very welcoming and nothing was to much trouble,the dog Leo was so friendly.The room was a single bedded room which was absolutely spotlessly clean.The stroll in and out of the city centre is roughly 20 mins.I would definitely stay here again when visiting York.Thanks

Reviewer:Mrs. KATIE Butler | Mon 4th Jul 2016


Great Breakfast - Rating 4/5

We were made very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Excellent breakfast.

Reviewer:Mrs. Anne Miller | Wed 29th Jun 2016


Nice place would visit again - Rating 4/5

We came to stay for one night and found the room comfortable and clean. It was just what we needed at a good price and good location. Only criticism is the lack of organisation at breakfast time.

Reviewer:Miss. Joanna Bailey | Mon 27th Jun 2016


Great little guest house - Rating 5/5

Lovely warm friendly welcome. Very clean. Great breakfast. Would recommend this fine establishment.

Reviewer:Mrs. annmarie giles | Sun 26th Jun 2016


3 night stay - Rating 5/5

Our 3 night stay was very comfortable and the owners could not do enough for us. The breakfast which were cooked to order were excellent. a very enjoyable stay.

Reviewer:Mrs. Christine Benson | Mon 20th Jun 2016


Our stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely welcome, clean comfortable night sleep. Lovely prompt breakfast great hosts will definately stop here again

Reviewer:Mrs. Carmen Spratt | Fri 17th Jun 2016


Beautiful place.- Rating 5/5

A lovely b&b with an amazing owner who made us feel welcome. Perfectly located just outside the town, the walk down the river was beautiful. We will definitely be returning

Reviewer:Miss. charlotte brady | Mon 6th Jun 2016


Great stay-faultless! - Rating 5/5

Stayed here for one night for a concert at the Barbican-very handy. Had the single room with separate bathroom-very cosy and well equipped-much better than photo on website.Lovely building,friendly owner and dog. Fabulous breakfast. Several local pubs and nice walk into town along the river. Cannot fault anything-would stay here again. Outstanding value for money. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Ms. Wendy Davidson | Thu 2nd Jun 2016


3 day stay over spring bank - Rating 5/5

We had a great stay with our two kids (aged 6 &5). We were very well looked after and the short walk along the river into York saved me driving. Very friendly hosts.

Reviewer:Mr. Steve Rotherham | Wed 1st Jun 2016


Very enjoyable stay - Rating 1/5

We really enjoyed our stay at the old Vic guest house, When we arrived after a long journey from Cardiff we were made to feel very welcome, our room was very comfortable, clean and nicely decorated. The cooked breakfast was lovely and we didn\'t have to wait long for it to be brought to the table. I would definitely recommend staying here and will be booking to stay again when we go back to York in February 😃

Reviewer:Miss. Kate Steer | Tue 31st May 2016


Taking a break - Rating 4/5

Nice clean comfortable room and a fantastic breakfast. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Naomi Bentham | Tue 31st May 2016


Great stay - Rating 5/5

Well situated to the centre of York. Much better than staying in a large hotel where you are just a paying customer and no real personal touches. The Old Vic is very accommodating, very relaxed atmosphere and a very welcoming stay. Julie was great in looking after us and made our stay most enjoyable. Great breakfast, particularly liked the jacuzzi bath and the peace and quiet surroundings. Parking was not an issue. I would certainly stay here again.

Reviewer:Mr. Stu O\'Hagan | Sat 28th May 2016


Lovely Guest House - Rating 4/5

We have stayed here a number of times now, the guest house rooms are clean and tidy, all the staff are friendly and welcoming. There is a great selection for breakfast and you can have as much tea and coffee as you like. The location of the guest house was great for us as we were attending the York race course and the town centre is only a ten / fifteen minute walk away. We would definately stay here again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Lisa Dickson | Tue 17th May 2016


Lovely b/b - Rating 5/5

Another great stay at the old vic,very welcoming,great breakfast ,very clean and comfortable room.come and go as you please,no problems can\'t wait till we go again,

Reviewer:Mr. Leslie Launder | Sun 15th May 2016


Business Trip - Rating 4/5

Alright, would stay again, thanksGareth Davies

Reviewer:Mr. Gareth Davies | Fri 13th May 2016


Our 3 night stay was lovely as always - Rating 5/5

Our 3 night stay was lovely as always and we will defiantly be back next year.

Reviewer:Mrs. Sarah White | Mon 9th May 2016


Really lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Myself and my boyfriend wanted to go on a last minute night away and I found this on the Wednesday night and stayed on the Saturday night. Couldn\'t have been happier with the last minute availability and price. The location was absolutely perfect, about a 20 minute walk from the centre which was lovely given that the weather was so nice. The house itself was really nice and was greeted warmly. Our room was clean and the breakfast was really tasty. Unfortunately I\'d had one wine too many the night before so wasn\'t able to fully enjoy it! Would definitely recommend this guest house to people and would stay here again.

Reviewer:Miss. Fiona Metcalf | Mon 9th May 2016


Staying at The Old Vic - Rating 5/5

We had a delightful three night stay at The Old Vic. The hospitality was great, and the location excellent. Different tastes for the breakfast were well catered for.

Reviewer:Mrs Diamond | Sun 8th May 2016


York visit - Rating 5/5

Friendly welcome, clean, comfortable, substantial breakfast, handy for a stroll alongside the river to reach the centre of York. Wouldn\'t hesitate to stay again.

Reviewer:Mr. Anthony Symonds | Mon 2nd May 2016


Visit to York to see The Flying Scotsman - Rating 4/5

Very welcoming host (including Leo the dog) and accomodation was clean and tidy. Great breakfast with plenty of choice. Close to city centre which can be reached easily by bus or by walking along the river. Good value for money. Only drawback was that parking is on street and a bit of a lottery at busy times.

Reviewer:Mr. Michael Bond | Sat 30th Apr 2016


Pleasant stay - Rating 3/5

I wanted a room just for a night, they were very friendly, room was fine, no issues and would stay again.

Reviewer:Mr. Dean Smith | Mon 25th Apr 2016


Friendly B&B - Rating 5/5

My daughter and I had a very comfortable stay at the Old Vic recently. York is within walking distance (or get the bus - £1 for 4 minute journey) Breakfast was plentiful and we couldn\'t fault it.Would recommend this friendly B&B to anyone.

Reviewer:Mrs. Lorraine Clarke | Thu 14th Apr 2016


Enjoyable stay - Rating 4/5

Lovely welcome, excellent breakfast and spotlessly clean premises. The staff were friendly and helpful.The only downside was that the en-suite was rather cramped, suitable for a short two night stay but would prefer more room if stayinmg any longer.

Reviewer:Mrs. Joan Wareing | Mon 11th Apr 2016


Great two days away- Rating 4/5

We had a really warm welcome from pat and Leo the room was nice. Clean and got all you needed for your stay the only down side was walls are a bit thin between the rooms well the one we was in ,breakfast was good you could chose what you wanted well done to every one who runs it have put this one on my favourite list 👍😀

Reviewer:Mrs. Pearl Berry | Mon 11th Apr 2016


Two Night Stay - Rating 4/5

Room comfortable pleasant stay

Reviewer:Mr. Gareth Davies | Sun 10th Apr 2016


York Easter Break - Rating 5/5

Period building, room with shower, tv &wifi. Relaxed stay, friendly family and dog. Good breakfasts. Free parking away from main road (so quiet nights). No complaints at all.

Reviewer:Mr. Roy Crowson | Fri 1st Apr 2016


Modest but good - Rating 4/5

Comfortable, good breakfast, nice people, lovely dog.

Reviewer:Mr. Bernard Greaves | Tue 15th Mar 2016


The old Vic Guest House,Fulford - Rating 4/5

The room was pleasant and clean,the food was good and enough of it. A nice welcome and made to feel at ease. A pleasant walkable distance from York City Centre.Good Wi-Fi.

Reviewer:Mr. Graham Bonnor | Tue 15th Mar 2016


Best bnb- Rating 5/5

Was a fabulous room everything we needed breakfast was fab the owners made us feel really comfortable home from home brilliantly situated just few minutes walk from town centre will defo be back thank you x

Reviewer:Mrs. kelly kidd | Fri 4th Mar 2016


Very clean, comfortable accommodation & friendly service - Rating 5/5

Pleasantly decorated, very clean small guest house. Walking distance of University (via footpath). Attentive service at breakfast. Lovely dog, who barks gently but firmly to announce arrivals.

Reviewer:Dr. Thomas Wilks | Wed 13th Jan 2016


Excellent weekend stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely, friendly reception on arrival. Room was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was wonderful, service very quick and the staff were so attentive and made sure we had eaten enough. The owner was lovely and friendly and we absolutely fell in love with Leo the gorgeous spaniel! Would highly recommend to anyone wishing for a delightful stay.

Reviewer:Miss. Andrea Dalby | Tue 15th Dec 2015


Very enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

Everything about our stay at The Old Vic Guest House was lovely, the staff, the food at the locality, we were in York for the weekend and went to see Chubby Brown at The Barbican and the distance could not have been better. We will definitely be booking to stay again.

Reviewer:Miss. LouiseHarrison | Mon 14th Dec 2015


Quality time - Rating 5/5

Lovely family run hotel, delicious cooked breakfast and super comfy bed. Thank you so much me and my daughter enjoyed our stay.

Reviewer:Mrs. amanda flanagan | Mon 14th Dec 2015


Weekend Break - Rating 4/5

Nice big warm room with hearty breakfast.Leo the dog friendly as ever.

Reviewer:Mr. Nicholas Leathley | Mon 14th Dec 2015


Charming guest house!- Rating 4/5

Lovely welcoming guest house, comfortable, good value will stay hereagain. Thanks Steve &Cheryl.

Reviewer:Mr. Steven Mountford | Fri 11th Dec 2015


Lovely! - Rating 4/5

Enjoyed our stay! The B &B was lovely. Julie was very welcoming and friendly. The only negatives were that we could hear a little bit of news through the night in the room above of us. We would have also enjoyed having a big time scale for breakfast, but this is just preference. The breakfast was lovely! Definitely would stay again.

Reviewer:Miss. LauraStacey| Tue 8th Dec 2015


york gem - Rating 4/5

Just returned from a three night stay. We wanted to do york christmas market. B &B was comfortable and welcoming and Julie was friendly and helpful but not at all in your face or intrusive. Leo the dog is just adorable. York is an easy ten/fifteen minutes walk away or there is a bus that runs from the top of the road. Only bad points are these- dont expect to be able to park your car outside the b&b you may have to park some way away.you may want to think twice about having sausage for breakfast everything else was lovely and cooked to order. All in all an enjoyable stay and would definitely return/recommend. In response to some of the critical reviews i say if u expect five star accommodation suggest u book into a five star hotel.

Reviewer:Ms. Cheryl Harvey | Sat 5th Dec 2015


Dated decor but pleasant stay would use again - Rating 4/5

Although the decor and bedding was a bit tired the breakfast was good The owner and staff were very helpful and pleasant we were given an extension on our room to change for a funeral. I think this establishment will improve over time as the owner had bought only 3 years ago but our stay was comfortable and good value we would stay again without a doubt

Reviewer:Mrs. Pat Winter| Sat 5th Dec 2015


A little gem - Rating 5/5

The Old Vic was fantastic;spotlessly clean, very comfortable, breakfast to die for and only a 10/15 minute walk to the centre of all the attractions.We will definitely return to The Old Vic and will be recommending to our friends.

Reviewer:Mrs. Carol Boyle | Fri 27th Nov 2015


Our stay at The Old Vic. - Rating 4/5

We stayed four nights and found the room to be warm with a comfy bed.The Full English Breakfast was hot and tasty.The Guest House owner is friendly, helpful, and polite.We would definitely stay there again when visiting York.

Reviewer:Mr. John Fielding | Thu 26th Nov 2015


enjoyable stay - Rating 4/5

had a lovely 3 night break comfortable room and the breakfast set you up for the day, nice walk into York

Reviewer:Mrs. Sharon Livesey | Sun 22nd Nov 2015


Enjoyable time spent in Guest House - Rating 4/5

The host is friendly and nice, welcoming us. The room is cosy and clean, so we can take a good rest after sightseeing in daytime. The full English breakfast served in every morning is the thing I appreciate most. It is really delicious and I love it!

Reviewer:Miss. Pui Ying Debbie Ng | Mon 16th Nov 2015


2 night break - Rating 4/5

Warm welcome friendly dog problem with tv and remote, another tv and remote brought within 5 mins all in all pleasant visit and would returnbreakfast was good nice and hot

Reviewer:Mr. john harris | Mon 9th Nov 2015


the old vic - Rating 5/5

Lovely guest house &really freindly atmosphere &staff , all in all, very pleasant throughout our stay :-)

Reviewer:Mr. Chris Walton | Mon 2nd Nov 2015


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

The guesthouse is warm comfortable and friendly.Perfect location with easy walk into York centre.Parking not always easy but would definitely recommend

Reviewer:Mrs. Caroline Hatch | Fri 30th Oct 2015


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Easy walk to the city centre and even along the river. Great breakfast, tidy accommodation.

Reviewer:Miss. JosephineAfful | Wed 28th Oct 2015


Great breakfast - Rating 4/5

Very welcoming and comfortable stay and a great breakfast.

Reviewer:Mr. P Henley | Wed 28th Oct 2015


Nice relaxing break - Rating 4/5

Very much enjoyed our stay at the old Vic.nice breakfast and enjoyed the quiet and relaxed area.many thanks.

Reviewer:Mr. andrew Harvey | Mon 31st Aug 2015


York visit - Rating 4/5

The room we had was small but ok,spotlessly clean and comfortable. Within easy walking distance to york centre, an excellent breakfast with friendly service provided by the staff. My only criticism being the parking as when we arrived we had to park about 500 yards away fromthe old vic, but i was able to park in front later when some of the cars moved. All in all though an enjoyable stay in york.

Reviewer:Mr. geoffrey wilks | Tue 25th Aug 2015


The old vic guest house - Rating 5/5

Very friendly Linda and Sophie were great enjoyed my breakfast everyday very good value for money would stay again

Reviewer:Mike Jones | Mon 24th Aug 2015


Yet another wonderful stay! - Rating 5/5

This was our third stay at The Old Vic. We had a very warm welcome from Julie\'s Mum and the lovely Leo. Our room was lovely and comfortable and very clean. We stayed fro two nights and the breakfasts were as lovely as always. The closeness to the city centre is perfect, quiet yet within walking distance. The walk in along the river is beautiful.we will definately be returning for a fourth visit and would highly recommend the Old Vic to anyone!

Reviewer:Ms. Amanda Coupland | Sun 16th Aug 2015


the old vic guesthouse - Rating 4/5

very pleasant host room clean slightly small as we are both fairly large people but lovely breakfast and very nice place in genral

Reviewer:Mr. barry scrivens | Wed 12th Aug 2015


The Old Vic Guesthouse - Rating 4/5

Had a wonderful weekend in York &the accommodation certainly played its part.Clean, comfy &secure in an ideal location to access the Cuty centre with a fantastic breakfast to start your day, would happily stay there again.Thanks

Reviewer:Mr. Phil Dooley | Mon 10th Aug 2015


A comfortable and friendly place to stay in York - Rating 5/5

A very clean and friendly establishment catering for everyone\'s needs. Amazing choice for breakfast so no need for lunch! Parking was not a problem and we actually did not use the car during our stay because it was only a 15 minute walk along the river into the centre of town. I can thoroughly recommend the Old Vic as a comfortable place to stay in York.

Reviewer:Mrs. Lou Tingey | Mon 3rd Aug 2015


Excellent - Loved it - Rating 5/5

Fully recommended, clean and friendly! Good price, excellent service.Close to the Centre, short walk on the riverside... Beautiful!

Reviewer:Mr. Erik Molnar | Mon 3rd Aug 2015


Amazing place with quality breakfast - Rating 5/5

I have been here before and i\'ll keep going back the place has a very friendly environment and really great quality breakfast. The rooms are decorated beautifully with very good facilities! Recommend for anyone any age.

Reviewer:Miss. RebeccaPowell| Mon 3rd Aug 2015


THE OLD VIC GUEST HOUSE - Rating 4/5

comfortable clean rooms offering an excellent hearty breakfast. Quiet location ideal 15-20 minute walk into York town centre

Reviewer:Mrs. mandy Bell | Mon 29th Jun 2015


A most enjoyable weekend - Rating 5/5

We chose The Old Vic as we wanted to be midway between York centre and the Racecourse as we cycle from Lincolnshire each year to attend the Cycle Rally. Safe secure cycle storage was a priority and this was very well provided for using the garage. I had room 5 and Carol had room 9. My single room didn\'t have en-suite but for the sake of a short flight of steps I had a Jacuzzi bathroom all to myself and a fluffy robe provided too!! BLISS after a 75 mile cycle ride!The room was very clean, pleasant and a comfortable bed too. Carol was equally pleased with her pleasant comfortable room and we were both very impressed with the excellent breakfast as well as the friendly and helpful hosts.All in all a lovely place to stay and we would definitely return.ps We love Leo the dog !!

Reviewer:Sue Burton | Thu 25th Jun 2015


Pleasant stay - Rating 4/5

First of all we have to say that we felt very well at the Old Vic, all the staff were very friendly and ready to help. The breakfast was excellent, our room was quiet and nicely furnished.

Reviewer:Mr. Karlheinz Ritter | Sat 20th Jun 2015


weekend stay - Rating 5/5

we had a very nice stay,a nice welcome and pleasant staff.excellent value for money.very clean,and yummy breakfast.

Reviewer:Mrs. Gail Tether | Mon 15th Jun 2015


wow - Rating 5/5

Wow just had a fantastic weekend in York,what a fabulous city with genuinely nice local people. Could not find any fault with the guest house really well located for the city centre,breakfast and room really good and if you needed any information you only had to ask. Will definately stay here again and thanks for a great weekend reply enjoyed it

Reviewer:Mr. christopher harrison | Mon 8th Jun 2015


little bit noisy - Rating 3/5

The location of the hotel was down a side road but close enough to the main road to hear some traffic noise. The alley down the side is also used for shop deliveries which was very noisy on sunday morning. The walk into town by the river was very close by and very pleasant. The room was a little small, but pretty. It had everything in it that I needed.Breakfast was between 8am and 9am which I found a little bit too tight time wise considering i had been out quite late the nights before. However the service and selection at breakfast was second to none. Top notch. There is also a beautiful dog that lives there, but it was prone to barking when the door bell rang for example

Reviewer:Miss. sarah brooks | Wed 20th May 2015


Very good b/b - Rating 4/5

Very clean,very handy for the centre of york either a lovely walk along the river about 20min or a 10 minute bus ride.breakfast is very very good,plenty of choice.parking is available dependable on spaces.

Reviewer:Mrs. Susan Launder | Sun 17th May 2015


Home from home - Rating 5/5

Had a fantastic stay, comfy home from home feel. Only a short scenic river walk from the centre of town with friendly staff and good food and lots of info on local attractions. We\'ll definitely be back.

Reviewer:Miss. leigh mctaggart | Mon 11th May 2015


Home from home - Rating 5/5

Had a fantastic stay, comfy home from home feel. Only a short scenic river walk from the centre of town with friendly staff and good food and lots of info on local attractions. We\'ll definitely be back.

Reviewer:Miss. leigh mctaggart | Mon 11th May 2015


Second Stay - Rating 5/5

Clean, pleasant,good breakfast.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul Butterfield | Sat 9th May 2015


FAB STAY - Rating 4/5

This is a lovely guest house with very friendly staff. They also have a lovely doggy who is so friendly. We had the twin room which was large enough for our requirements and was very clean. I will be recomending this place to all my friends and family. thanks for a great weekend and hope to be back in the near future

Reviewer:Ms. Rebecca mcevoy | Tue 5th May 2015


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Great friendly hosts in a good location for all York has to offer. Would stay again.

Reviewer:Mr. Craig Moyes | Tue 5th May 2015


fantastic- Rating 5/5

Beautiful guest house within walking distance to the city centre, along the beautiful river. a highly recommended walk. beautiful, very clean and comfortable rooms. great flexibility for access to guest house after hours but be respectful to others as its situated in a lovely quiet area. Breakfast was amazing! best full english ive ever had!! and lastly the owners and staff are very friendly, helpful and great for conversation and tips on York. They also have a beautiful and very friendly dog , a fantastic greeting to arrive to.

Reviewer:Miss. CARRON OMALLEY | Sun 3rd May 2015


Amazing time - Rating 4/5

Lovely guest house. Really nice breakfast. Everything absolutely good. We enjoyed our stay in York.

Reviewer:Miss. MARIA PATON HERNANDEZ | Tue 28th Apr 2015


Old Vic Guest House, York - Rating 4/5

Small and comfortable, very clean ensuite room with the all-important tea-making facility and biscuits.Good location for walking into centre of York (10 mins) with easy parking outside guest house on the quiet road. Also close to the University where our daughter is studying.Good full English breakfast with lighter alternatives at hand - cereal, fruit selection, yoghurts. The smell of frying does permeate the house temporaily though. Steps up to front door would exclude guests with disabilities (not a problem for us). Friendly and helpful landlady and staff.No complaints and would certainly book in again.

Reviewer:Mr. John O\\\'Boyle | Wed 15th Apr 2015


Weekend away - Rating 4/5

An enjoyable two days in York.The Old Vic was comfortable and the staff were superb and gave us lots of good advice.Will definitely stay there again on our return to York

Reviewer:Mr. John Fare | Tue 14th Apr 2015


Amazing- Rating 5/5

Amazing and friendly place to stay! The breakfast was delicious!definitely a place I would like to visit again and will be recommending it to everyone!

Reviewer:Miss. RebeccaPowell | Mon 13th Apr 2015


Family with children - Rating 4/5

We enjoyed our stay.Good food, clean room.We\'ll stop there again.

Reviewer:J Shufflebotham | Wed 8th Apr 2015


Easter Break/Racecourse event - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed our stay very muchVery nice roomBreakfast wastremendousVery nice staff

Reviewer:Mr. Ian Brown | Tue 7th Apr 2015


B n B - Rating 3/5

We find our stay at The Old Vic very comfortable with pleasant service and friendly dog. We do intend to stay here again.

Reviewer:Mr. Stewart Marshall | Tue 17th Mar 2015


One night Saturday stay - Rating 4/5

Nice clean pleasant B and B and staff. Would definitely stay again

Reviewer:Mr. Mark Charters | Mon 16th Mar 2015


Great return visit - Rating 5/5

This was my third visit to York and I am so glad we were able to stay at The Old Vic Guest House once again.The welcome is warm and friendly, the rooms are comfy and clean, and the breakfast is superb and really sets you up for a good day\'s sightseeing.

Reviewer:Mrs. LesleyEyres | Tue 10th Mar 2015


home from home - Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful time as you said make yourself at home and that is how we felt.The,room ,breakfast and service was great.

Reviewer:Mr. Micheal Manning | Fri 20th Feb 2015


Perfect! - Rating 5/5

Lovely room. Perfect location for York centre. Hotel very welcoming. Fantastic breakfast! We will definitely be back.

Reviewer:Mrs. Sharon Hurrell | Mon 16th Feb 2015


A*** - Rating 5/5

Hi just come back from here what a lovely place very clean very easy to get to places lovely family run business would definitely recommend also food was lovely definitely worth the money

Reviewer:Beverly Lomas | Tue 20th Jan 2015


The Old Vic Guest House - Rating 5/5

we stayed for 2 nights and were very pleased with our stay julie and her family were lovely it was spotlessly clean,great breakfast was cooked fresh every morning we would definately recommend to everyone thankyou

Reviewer:Mrs. Linda Lee | Mon 19th Jan 2015


Great Value B&B - Rating 5/5

My wife and I both enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Old Vic Guest House.The proprietors (and Leo, the well fed and very happy cocker spaniel) were very friendly and welcoming.The room was clean, warm and comfortable. The breakfast was very nice with enough to satisfy the heartiest of appetites.We would happily recommend this B&B as good value for money and it will be our first port of call when next looking for a B&B in York. Thankyou for a lovely stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Gareth Powell | Sun 30th Nov 2014


old vic - Rating 4/5

made at ease thought-out stay, would stay again, breakfast A+

Reviewer:Mr. Eric Maddison | Sat 29th Nov 2014


Birthday trip - Rating 5/5

Very good b&b friendly and helpfull great breakfastShort walk into York good value

Reviewer:Kelvin Cross | Mon 24th Nov 2014


November 13th- Rating 5/5

Greattime ! Lovelyfriendly and helpful. Room and breakfastspot on, will definitely come back again.

Reviewer:Mr. Kevin Morris | Sun 16th Nov 2014


Old Vic Guest House - Rating 5/5

Warm, comfortable and spotless room. Superb breakfast with attention to detail.Julie is a most friendly and excellent host. She advised us to park the car and use the local buses to York. Top advice! We saw all of the attractions including the Yorkshire Aviation Museum without using the car. Short walk to the Mason\'s Arms for excellent pub food. Really couldn\'t fault anything.Top marks Julie.

Reviewer:Mr. Jesse Constant | Mon 10th Nov 2014


50th birthday weekend away - Rating 5/5

What a gem! Everything you could need from a b&b,spotless clean,warm and cosy with a wonderful atmosphere in a beautiful old victorian property.Breakfast was amazing with lots of choices,utterly delicious!.Another bonus is the 15minute stroll into the centre by the riverside which is breathtaking,there is a bus stop within metres but we didnt use it as the walk was too enjoyable.This is a family run buisness with great attention to detail and i cant recommend it highly enough,we will definately be returning in the near future. Thankyou julie,Ian and your 2 lovely daughters for helping to make my birthday so special.

Reviewer:Ms. Heather Dissington | Tue 14th Oct 2014


Do yourself a favour and book!!! - Rating 5/5

We had a great time. Breakfast was fabulous. Staff friendly made you feel part of the family (family business). Very relaxing, clean, exquisite. I took some business cards to give to other Aussies going to York.

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew Taggart | Wed 8th Oct 2014


weekend family stay - Rating 5/5

warm welcome, clean room with every thing we needed for our stay.Lovely Breakfast and a short walk along the river to the city centre.Hopefully returning again soon.Thank you for making us feel relaxed .

Reviewer:Mr. David Groves | Tue 7th Oct 2014


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

A warm and pleasant welcome from the owner of The Old Vic. Crisp and clean bedroom and bathroom facilities. Lovely breakfast and friendly waitress in the morning. Great location, around a 15-20 minute walk along the river. We will come back to this B&B if we come back to York.:)

Reviewer:Miss. Stacy-anne Rees | Mon 29th Sep 2014


Excellent - Rating 5/5

It was like being at home. Breakfasts were true English breakfasts, you can order the combination of food that is suitable for you, including some things that are not on the manue. The staff is really nice and creating warm atmosphere as they live in the same building as rooms are placed. As far as location is concerned I was very satisfied. It takes only 15 min to the old center if you walk near the river.I was pleased to be their guest! :)

Reviewer:Mr. Sandra Žunič | Fri 26th Sep 2014


b&b per rilassarsi - Rating 5/5

accogliente , confortevole , pulito e comodo per raggiungere il centro citta\' e l\'universita\'.

Reviewer:Mr. Guido Citoni | Tue 23rd Sep 2014


Amazing stay. - Rating 5/5

We had such a lovely welcoming stay. The room and the location of the Old Vic location was perfect. We will highly recommend you to all! We would also like to say the breakfast was delicious, great service too! and room was cleaned to a high standard! It was so snug, warm and clean. Every little detail had been thought about.We also love Leo your dog! Cannot speak highly enough!

Reviewer:Miss. Natalie Halsall | Sun 21st Sep 2014


Cozy room - Rating 4/5

A warm smiley welcome, spotless surroundings and an excellent breakfast.

Reviewer:Margaret Studer | Wed 17th Sep 2014


Old Vic Guesthouse, York - Rating 4/5

Extremely friendly and helpful family. It is clean and the breakfast was great. fantastic value for money compared to others I researched. Thanks to everyone there

Reviewer:Mr. Stephen Drewe | Tue 9th Sep 2014


Super stay - Rating 5/5

A thoroughly enjoyable stay. Perfect room, excellent food, friendly staff and great location.

Reviewer:Mrs. Bev Hick | Mon 8th Sep 2014


hotel review - Rating 4/5

Well pleased with the welcome we received from Julie and her family 1st class, hotel clean and breakfast excellent 15 mins walk to town centre.

Reviewer:Mr. Stephen Warren | Fri 29th Aug 2014


old vic guesthouse - Rating 5/5

Me and my wife had a wonderful time on bank holiday Monday and Tuesday at the old vic guesthouse we would like to thank Julie and Ian for their hospitality we will definitely be going back there again.

Reviewer:Mr. BarryStephenson | Wed 27th Aug 2014


Excellent Stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed at the Old Vic with our Son and Fiancee and would like to thank everyone for making us so welcome, our weekend was very enjoyable and we will definately book again next time we visit York and also recommend you to our friends.

Reviewer:Mrs. Susan Benecke | Tue 26th Aug 2014


York races - Rating 5/5

Great place to stay 15 mins from center, wonderful welcome and friendly staff. Room well appointed, even though due for redecoration as we found out. Breakfast great, with nothing too much trouble for the girls. All in all a great place to stay for the races, if not just for a couple of days round York.

Reviewer:Mr. Derek Hummertson | Mon 25th Aug 2014


Great stay - Rating 4/5

Very nice, comfortable room with good facilities. Good quality breakfasts and very nice, hospitable staff. Would definitely recommend.

Reviewer:Ian Dodd | Mon 18th Aug 2014


summer holiday in York - Rating 5/5

My sister and i had a very enjoyable stay. Very friendly with nothing too much of a bother to them.the room was lovely, nice light and airy decor in good repair. Tea coffee facilities gd. Shower and toilet facilities good. Close to town within easy walking distance and a very good bus service.lots of places to eat close by. Lovely family dog who enjoys a tummy tickle but only if you like dogs as he is keot out of main B&B area. Over all a delightful place to spend a weeks holiday in York and sorrounding area. I definitely recommend. Always busy so book early to avoid disappointment.

Reviewer:Ms. Helen Ferguson | Mon 18th Aug 2014


The old vic - Rating 5/5

As a frequent user of guest houses and parent to an autistic teenager, I can only say what a superb, friendly and welcoming establishment it is. The family room I had was fantastic as was the breakfast. The house is also a nice distance from the city centre to walk or if you choose to bus or taxi.I would highly recommend it

Reviewer:Leigh Hunnable | Sun 17th Aug 2014


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

We arrived as a family with two young children and in-laws in tow and even though we arrived early, our lovely rooms were ready for us to dump our stuff, freshen up and walk into town along the river as recommended by the owner. The owner and staff were very friendly and served us all an excellent breakfast in the morning. A great stay.

Reviewer:Charlotte Bye-Jensen | Sun 17th Aug 2014


first choice from now - Rating 5/5

Friendly professional experience that ticked all the boxes. Quiet,breakfast probably as good as any we have had while staying inb and b and b's. comfortable bed with room very clean

Reviewer:Mr. David Tomlinson | Thu 14th Aug 2014


Awesome! - Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful experience, our room was comfy and clean with everything we needed for our 3 day stay, tea and coffee supplies topped up daily plus Wifi and TV(For the much needed weather forecasts). Breakfast was hearty that kept us going all day, which was very much needed with all the walking we did around town. Julie, Ian, Hannah and Hayley are attentive, welcoming and friendly hosts that gave a home from home feeling which added to our enjoyment of our trip to York.

Reviewer:Mr. Ray Boardman | Wed 13th Aug 2014


Great place to stay in York - Rating 4/5

Our room was beautiful and comfortable, breakfast was great, and the family (and dog) were very friendly!

Reviewer:Ms. Katherine Ottens | Tue 12th Aug 2014


Stay at old vic - Rating 5/5

We stayed at the old vic for 3 nights nights great location excellent breakfast clean and comfy room great hosts would recommend this guest house to anyone

Reviewer:Mr. Darren Wilson | Mon 11th Aug 2014


Nice place - Rating 5/5

Very nice and friendly place. The room was huge, comfortable and quiet, and the breakfast very good. Buses to the city just around the corner or only a fifteen minutes walk to the city center(nice walk along the river). I very much enjoyed this place.

Reviewer:Mr. Marylène Poirie | Sat 9th Aug 2014


Another great visit - Rating 5/5

Our second stay at The Old Vic and it was just as great as the first time.Lovely room, lovely people.

Reviewer:Mr. Nick Eyres | Fri 1st Aug 2014


The Old Vic Guest House - Rating 5/5

A warm welcome and a comfortable, clean room. The Old Vic is really well situated. There's a bus stop just around the corner or the path along the river is just down the end of the street. A lovely way to get into the centre of York. The breakfast was delicious and abundant. I definitely recommend the Old Vic.

Reviewer:Ms. Narelle Robertson | Mon 28th Jul 2014


very nice - Rating 5/5

good value, near the town will visit again.

Reviewer:Mr. Chris Turner | Fri 25th Jul 2014


I would recommend this guest house - Rating 5/5

We only stayed overnight, but we would definitely choose the Old Vic next time we return to York. A compact but comfortable room, and excellent food. Julie, the landlady is very friendly and welcoming.

Reviewer:Mr. Donald Fear | Thu 24th Jul 2014


staying again- Rating 4/5

Cheapest yet nicest place I've stayed for the money . Very friendly ....will definitely stay again

Reviewer:Mr. Mark Cole | Thu 24th Jul 2014


Good B&B - Rating 4/5

Good location for the city centre,5 minutes by bus.Lovely warm welcome by the owners which continued throughout our stay there.Lots of stairs within their premises, so not suitable for the infirm.Overall would recommend The Old Vic,great value for the money we paid for our visit.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jill Mcintyre | Tue 15th Jul 2014


Old Vic Guest House - Rating 5/5

HAD A LOVELY STAY, THE ROOMS WERE SPOTLESS AND VERY COMFORTABLE WITH EVERYTHING YOU NEEDED PROVIDED AND CLEANED EVERY DAY , IT'S A FAMILY RUN GUEST HOUSE AND IT SHOWS THEY ARE A LOVELYFAMILY ..NOTHING WAS TOO MUCH TROUBLE AND WE HAD EXCELLENT,FRIENDLY SERVICE ..WOULD HAPPILYRECOMMEND... THANK YOU XXX

Reviewer:Mr. Howard Booker | Mon 14th Jul 2014


Clare & Nick - Rating 5/5

Great location for walking into York.The staff were fabulous and very friendly.Comfortable rooms.Would recommend staying here.

Reviewer:Mrs. Judith Judith Card | Tue 8th Jul 2014


Weekend in York- Rating 5/5

A wonderful family run b&b I highly recomened this to everybody

Reviewer:Mr. Nigel Davies | Wed 25th Jun 2014


The Old Vic Guest HouseYork - Rating 4/5

I really enjoyed my stay at this clean and comfortable guest house. It was easy to find and was in a short distance from the town centre. Furthermore the breakfast was very good. Definately value for money.

Reviewer:Ms. Kate Fothergill | Tue 24th Jun 2014


Superb - Rating 5/5

Cannot fault this Guest House in any way, marvellous well fitted out clean airy bedroom, fantastic breakfast with a wide choice, very helpful plesant staff and management, quiet and peaceful location just off a main road, easy walking distance along a river path to the centre of York. the only fault we had that we could not have stayed longer enjoyed every moment. Hopefully if we can get back again to York for a visit will definitely stay again. would recommend it to anyone. Finally would just like to say thank you for our stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Brian Aucutt | Tue 24th Jun 2014


Short Stay - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely stay.Enjoyed the hotel and excellent service.

Reviewer:Mr. David Buffey | Sun 22nd Jun 2014


excellent - Rating 5/5

Thank you to julie and family for a lovely enjoyable stay. We were made very welcomeon arrival and throughout our stay. Excellent breakfast to set you up for the day. Would definitely recommend to anyone. A truly lovely family was a pleasure to stay with you. We know where to stay if ever in york again.Many thanksMark and Deanna Bird.

Reviewer:Mrs. Deanna Bird | Sun 22nd Jun 2014


Just what I wanted- Rating 5/5

I had a very short but sweet stay at The Old Vic every part of my stay was great, the room was very comfortable and nicely decorated I was overjoyed to see ample tea making supplies. The bed was comfortable and I slept as well as I do at home.Breakfast was lovely and cooked exactly as I asked. Everyone was so warm and friendly including Leo the dog. Next time I'm staying in York I will certainly be staying here again.

Reviewer:Caroline Bruce | Wed 18th Jun 2014


Great place- Rating 5/5

Absolutely awesome place to stay. Close to City Centre and lots of good restaurants.Julie and Ian are wonderful and great breakfasts. Thank you Ian and Julie.

Reviewer:Mr. Raymond Weaver | Sun 15th Jun 2014


Parking Breakfast Wifi free- Rating 5/5

Liked the place very much. £65 for double on weakend Quite lovely spot Nice hostess, great breakfast and good wifi Easy to park along the road, you can leave car without getting into traffic in the historic center and take a 10 min walk to the Minster area York is great! :))

Reviewer:Natalia Frolova | Thu 29th May 2014


Good Accomodation - Rating 4/5

Good, clean Accomodation. Owners and staff very pleasant. Great breakfast. Would recommend to anyone.Paul Butterfield

Reviewer:Mr. PaulButterfield | Mon 26th May 2014


B&B- Rating 4/5

Nice host . Good breakfast

Reviewer:Mrs. Mel Jenki | Tue 20th May 2014


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely weekend in this B&B! Wonderful breakfast! Owners very attentive, clean, bright and well presented room, lovely promenade to go to the city centre along the river. Definitely recommended!

Reviewer:Miss. Alessandra Vichi | Mon 19th May 2014


Fantastic - Rating 5/5

Lovely room, comfy bed, excellent breakfast, and a friendly dog. Everyone at the guest house was very nice and accommodating.

Reviewer:Miss. Amanda Wintcher | Sat 17th May 2014


Lovely - Rating 4/5

Really nice guest house.Very friendly owners.Lovely breakfast.Needs better lighting in en.suite.But very good location.

Reviewer:Mr. David Kennedy | Wed 7th May 2014


Great guest house - Rating 5/5

Nice clean room, friendly &helpful staff, good breakfast and great location.Would definitely stay here again!

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew Hill | Wed 7th May 2014


3 might stay - Rating 5/5

Myself and my husband very much enjoyed our stay.This is our 3rd stay and as always the room was clean and the breakfast was to a high standard.The only small thing I would say is that we had the small double room.I was a little disapointed as it would have been nice to have the larger one for a 3 night stay but it didnt spoil our trip at all and its not a criticism, more like a preference when staying 3 night or more. We will definatly stay again on our next trip to York. Thank you.

Reviewer:Mrs. Sarah White | Tue 6th May 2014


Delightful B&B - Rating 5/5

Cannot praise the Old Vic enough. Run by a lovely family, beautiful home, lovely rooms, perfect location within walking distance of the main city. Our second stay here and already looking forward to our 3rd.

Reviewer:Mrs. Alison Hilton | Mon 28th Apr 2014


Friendly and warm - Rating 4/5

Our staying was really pleasent, we had a nice and clean room at 2nd floor. The breakfast was amazingwith a full English well cooked ! We enjoyed a lot Many thanks

Reviewer:Mr. Cristian Ranallo | Sat 26th Apr 2014


Wonderful - Rating 4/5

Spent two very pleasant nights here. Everyone is exceedingly friendly, and the rooms are perfectly cosy and clean. Breakfast was also delightful, not least a perfectly cooked poached egg.Would stay here again with no hesitation.

Reviewer:Mr. Thomas Forwood | Sun 20th Apr 2014


Old Vic stay - Rating 5/5

Perfect for our family. Friendly and welcoming in a great location.

Reviewer:Mrs. Nicola Wright | Fri 18th Apr 2014


Village feel in Town location - Rating 5/5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Great location, friendly hosts and delicious breakfasts. Enjoyed walking into town through the Rowntree park and along the river, seeing the sights, and village 'feel' 15 minutes from the town centre.

Reviewer:Valentina Bold | Thu 17th Apr 2014


one of yorks best - Rating 5/5

lovely hosts clean comfortable room great breakfast ideal location

Reviewer:Mr. Stephen Grimes | Sun 30th Mar 2014


Good holiday - Rating 4/5

Second visit, everything wonderful.Looked after well and very friendly.Thanks again.John

Reviewer:Mr. John Elsey | Tue 25th Mar 2014


guest house with service and smiles. - Rating 5/5

we have been to York many times as it is such a beautiful city.We booked late to stay at the old vic and we can honestly say the price was definitely value for money.The room was clean, warming with a very comfortable bed. my wife and I feel the breakfast was the best we have ever had, all food was cooked great with fresh tea and ground coffee to finish it off. The best thing about this guest house,is the beautiful family who run it, the welcome was warm with lots of smiles along with the dog Leo rolling over, again the service during breakfast was warm and welcoming. if and when we do return tp york,there is no doubt we will be staying there again. many thanks to ian, julie , leo and there daughters (sorry cannot remember names). many thanks

Response

Thank you so much for that lovely review, it makes all our hard work worth every minute and we all look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewer:Mr. Ian Gardner | Sun 9th Mar 2014


perfect. - Rating 5/5

Great b and b, really welcoming, good price excellent breakfast, relaxed atmosphère and good size rooms. Quiet.

Reviewer:Ms. Johanna Whiteley | Tue 4th Mar 2014


Great experience thanks! - Rating 5/5

I really enjoyed my stay at the Old Vic.I felt very welcomed by the friendly staff and was given lots of helpful suggestions on places to visit in York.Having somewhere like this to stay really helped me to make the most of my trip. The breakfasts were also very nice and I didn't have to wait long for them. I would definitely consider coming back.

Reviewer:Mr. James Wills | Mon 3rd Mar 2014


Great stay - Rating 5/5

A very friendly guest house, owners and staff were so helpful, nothing too much trouble. Room comfortable and very clean.Breakfast was also very good. Ideally situated for the town centre, a short 10 minute stroll along the river .Will be staying again!

Reviewer:Mr. Stephen Jones | Sun 2nd Mar 2014


a lovely stay - Rating 4/5

We stayed for 4 nights at the Old Vic and had a great time. Our room was very nice and our hosts were very attentive.Thoroughly recommend!

Reviewer:Mr. Stephen Painter | Sun 23rd Feb 2014


weekend away - Rating 5/5

It was a pleasure to stay ,very friendly and helpful,food excellent.

Reviewer:Mr. Joseph Charlton | Thu 20th Feb 2014


getaway - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed our stay lovely clean room and very friendly staff, breakfast wonderful, will definitely stay again.thank you

Reviewer:Mr And Mrs Derek Jones | Wed 12th Feb 2014


great stay - Rating 4/5

We have a lovely stay here very welcoming family, even from Leo the dog. Rooms had everything we required and the breakfast was perfect. Will definitely be recommending these guys

Reviewer:Jaine Warin | Mon 3rd Feb 2014


Very welcoming guest house. - Rating 5/5

After staying at the establishment and having fun with the dog, we left smiling due to the sheer enjoyment we had whilst in York;however, it was the guest house which made all the difference. The place itself is very cosy and the owners are extremely lovely, also the breakfast in the morning is very nice and well prepared for those who enjoy a good hearty English breakfast. The room is a good size and very warm if you are not a fan of the cold weather during the winter times. The ensuite is sufficient, considering there was no need to have a massive bathroom area. One of the great things about the Old Vic guest house is the location. It is a little outside of the city, but you can easily walk to the centre in a short time and the traffic noise was near enough non existent, which meant we could sleep soundly. When I return to York, you can bet I am going back to the Old Vic guest house.

Reviewer:Mr. Gareth Smith | Mon 18th Nov 2013


Fabulous place! - Rating 4/5

Nice tidy room with good taste of decorating. Friendly host. Beautiful location with easy access to city center. Love the river walking nearby.

Reviewer:Zhi-hua Gao | Tue 12th Nov 2013


EXCELLANT - Rating 5/5

THE OLD VIC IS A VERY PLEASANT GUEST HOUSE, WE WERE MET WITH A VERY WARM WELCOME, THE ROOM WAS LOVELY AND WARM. BREAKFAST WAS COOKED TO PERFECTION EVEN THOUGH THERE WAS PLENTY WE WERE ASKED IF WE WANTED MORE. COULDN'T MEET ANY NICER FRIENDLY PEOPLE VERY HELPFULL INDEED WOULD RECOMEND A STAY THERE THANK YOU X

Reviewer:MR JEFFREY MORROW | Mon 11th Nov 2013


A good choice! - Rating 4/5

We wanted a guest house which was handy for thecity centre at a reasonable price - the Old Vic fitted the bill on both counts! Added to this was the friendliness of the family and the lovely full english breakfasts!The room was small but very clean and comfortable and we would certainly stay there again

Reviewer:Mr. Dennis Rawlings | Mon 11th Nov 2013


The Great Gathering - Rating 5/5

Leo and his trusty assistants, Julie &Ian made us most welcome on our A4 hunting trip. The A4's were successfully shot at the NRM. Lots of excellent advice as to making our way around York including the tranquil river side walk that takes you straight into town in15 minutes. Ask about eateries and you will get many great suggestions. We met an old friend from years ago and together got to see lots of live music in the many pubs of York. The room (no. 6) is cosy, quiet &warm. Comfy beds, ensuite, and lots of tea &coffee make it a pleasure to get back to at 1 am!Breakfast, sensibly served between 8 &9 am is great, well presented in the relaxing cellar dining room. We really enjoyed our stay, excellent value for money and we will return.

Reviewer:Mrs. Linda Weldon | Sun 10th Nov 2013


Delightful - Rating 5/5

Had a lovely stay at the Old Vic and can't speak highly enough of it. Beautiful house welladapted to a B&B. Supurb breakfast, and a family who are welcoming and friendly. Would definitely stay again. Also excellent value.

Reviewer:Alison Hilton | Sat 9th Nov 2013


Very pleasant - Rating 5/5

We spent a couple of nights at The Old Vic at the end of October and couldn't have asked for a better B&B experience. I have stayed in many and from the warm welcome, the cosy room to the fab breakfasts we couldn't really fault it. Thank you.

Reviewer:Mr. Ashley Presland | Tue 5th Nov 2013


A Great Place To Stay B&B - Rating 5/5

Warm and friendly - and that's only Leo! A lovely stay, comfortable, good food and met all our needs. Delightful to be able to take an easy 15min walk along the river side into York. Thank you, Nigel &Jacqui.

Reviewer:Mr. Nigel Woodward | Mon 4th Nov 2013


EXCELLENT B & B - Rating 5/5

Just had a 3 night stay at the Old Vic which was wonderful, lovely friendly people not forgetting Leo the dog! Room was excellent, clean, warm and very comfortable. Breakfast was perfect! Would highly recommend and look forward to going back to stay there again!

Reviewer:Mrs. Janet Davis | Sat 2nd Nov 2013


Friendly place to be - Rating 5/5

The rooms were great, bed nice and comfortable, plenty of drinks-making facilities, tidy and clean bathroom and linen. After a nice trip around York, a great place to come back to. The breakfasts and the staff were perfect with very generous offerings. Thanks for having us!

Reviewer:Hauber | Thu 31st Oct 2013


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed a 3 night stay at the old vic guest house-excellent room, very clean - delicious full english breakfast to start the day off!Lovely 20 min riverside walk into the city centre. Many thanks to Julie and her staff for making it the perfect stay.

Reviewer:Mr. George Scott | Wed 30th Oct 2013


warm welcome - Rating 5/5

I stayed at The Old Vic for a weekend and booked the single room. The room is relatively small (as described) but was warm and comfortable. There is exclusive use of a bathroom down the hall. The breakfasts were good and I had the best scrambled eggs I've ever tasted. Parking depends on how busy the street is. I managed to park just round the corner and left the car there all weekend. There is a lovely walk into York along the river which took me about 20 min. The owners were very welcoming and friendly and I would definitely recommend a stay at The Old Vic.

Response

thanks Joan, what a lovely compliment, you are always welcome in our home.

Reviewer:Ms. Joan Sutherland | Wed 23rd Oct 2013


Pleasurable stay. - Rating 4/5

We were made very welcome as we arrived. The bedrooms were clean and comfortable,and the breakfast was superb. A pleasant experience.

Reviewer:Mr. Charles Butterworth | Tue 22nd Oct 2013


Our stay - Rating 4/5

I stayed at the Old Vic with my sister from 11/10/13-14/10/13. We really enjoyed our stay here. The room was lovely thank you &the breakfasts were very nice &arrived hot at the table. We enjoyed our short bus rides in to the centre &on nice days a 15-20min walk. Thank you again I will stay again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Karen Scheper | Tue 15th Oct 2013


Visit to York - Rating 5/5

This was our first trip to the UK and our experience can be classified as an extremely pleasant one.The ambiance and hospitality at the Old Vic was second to none and we would definitely do it again.

Reviewer:Robert Porter | Mon 14th Oct 2013


Lovely Warm Welcome - Rating 5/5

Lovely warm welcome to the guest house, nothing was to much bother for Julie &Ian. Warm, clean, cosy room with drinks &bicuits.Easy walking distance to races and town centre. Will definatley be returning.

Reviewer:Mr. Dean Owen | Mon 14th Oct 2013


Very happy- Rating 5/5

Lovely stay and lovely clean rooms. Very close to city centre.

Reviewer:Miss. Rachael Williams | Sun 13th Oct 2013


Our October '13 stay (4 nights) - Rating 4/5

Hosts are very helpful and friendly, latter includes Leo the lovely dog! Location just off a main road with plenty of buses, but also near river walks is ideal. Express store round the corner, good eating pubs close-by (though not for lunchtime after those excellent breakfasts!)and easy access to all the rest of York - ideal.

Reviewer:Mr. Geoffrey Marchant | Sat 12th Oct 2013


weekend break - Rating 5/5

Made very welcome,clean and tidy room,excelent breakfast. Close to river and nice walk into city center. Would stay again.

Reviewer:Mr. Chris Halsall | Tue 8th Oct 2013


A warm and friendly welcome! - Rating 5/5

I would highly recommend staying at The Old Vic Guest House.Our room was clean, comfy with ensuite.Julie, the owner, was very friendly and did everything to make our stay a welcoming one. Great breakfast! Variety of cooked breakfast and continental - with vegetarians easily catered for. Close to city - either lovely (15 min) walk along river or regular (frequent) bus (No 7 or 415).Well worth the stay. Will come again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Michelle Walker | Sat 5th Oct 2013


the best b&b in york- Rating 5/5

We stayed here for 2 nights and from the moment we got there the service was excellent the owners are the most friendlyist people you would wish to meet . The breakfasts was excellent and the staff who served it was very nice we will definitely stop here again very enjoyable well done owners for making our stay a good one

Reviewer:Mr. Steve Waller | Fri 27th Sep 2013


Very nice- Rating 5/5

Very nice stay, quiet neighborhood with easy walk to city center. Full English breakfast that was great! Would definitely stay there again!

Reviewer:Dr. Mary Brummett | Thu 26th Sep 2013


old vic - Rating 5/5

Wonderful stay,friendly,easy to get into the centre of York.Breakfast was huge and plenty of choice,served with a smile.And we loved Leo.

Reviewer:Ms. Fiona Lordan | Tue 24th Sep 2013


Reunion - Rating 5/5

What can one say excellent venue close to all amenities. Very good staff, lovely room, enjoyed stay see you again. Certa Cito thanks.

Reviewer:Derek Thorpe | Mon 23rd Sep 2013


Fantastic- Rating 5/5

Fantastic room fantastic breakfast and most of all fantastic family had a brilliant stay rooms 10/10 breakfast 10/10 everything about our stay was 10/10 been here twice now and will defiantly be going back for our 3rd stay next year thankyou again for a great weekend stays:)))))

Reviewer:Mr. Tony Watson | Mon 23rd Sep 2013


Fab - Rating 5/5

Thanks so much. Fantastic place to stay. Friendly, helpful and happy people. In a cracking spot, loved the ten minutes walk by the river in to York. A lovely clean room. Tons of space,in a family room and there were only the two of us!The sun stayed out all weekend too, massive bonus x

Reviewer:Miss. Kathryn Greenall | Sun 15th Sep 2013


Old Vic B&B - Rating 5/5

Lovely welcome.Super breakfast.Handy location for City centre.Clean comfortable room.Good value

Reviewer:Mr. Barry Streeting | Wed 11th Sep 2013


Lovely guest house - Rating 5/5

We were greeted by a friendly face upon our arrival. The room was clean and provided tea making facilities, tv and wifi.We all had a good night's sleep and were really impressed with the cooked breakfast in the morning. Lovely manager and staff, would definitely stay here again.

Reviewer:Mr. Nick Eyres | Wed 4th Sep 2013


Very Friendly Bed & Breakfast - Rating 4/5

Very friendly and welcoming bed &breakfast within easy reach of York City Centre, with parking on the road.Very clean and cooked to order full English breakfast which was excellent.Bedroom quite small but adequate, but no toiletries (shower gel/shampoo) available.Price is very reasonable and I can recommend a stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Norman Lamb | Sun 1st Sep 2013


Fabulous - Rating 5/5

A really warm welcome from Ian. A beautifully decorated,spotlessly clean superiorroom and the comfiest bedever! Great breakfastand plenty of it! Great location 15 mins to racecourse and town. A really lovely guest house run by a lovely family.Can't wait for our next visit.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jackie Bridges | Tue 27th Aug 2013


Excellent Guest House - Rating 5/5

To visit York we stayed just one night at the guest house. It was a really good experience. Everything was ok, especially the breakfast. If we visit York again we surely will use the same guest house.

Reviewer:Ole Bastue Jacobsen | Mon 26th Aug 2013


Recent stay - Rating 5/5

Very enjoyable place to stay. Friendly family environment

Reviewer:Mr. Mark Tester | Mon 26th Aug 2013


Three day break - Rating 4/5

Me and my partner chose this Guest House as we wanted to be close to york and her son, it was a very good move, as the room was clean also the breakfast was first rate, Julie and her family are all very helpful . Will tell all my family and friends .

Reviewer:Mr. Edward Stone | Wed 21st Aug 2013


York Weekend - Rating 5/5

Lovely B &B, spotless, everything was there you needed, the breakfasts were gorgeous, very friendly hosts, would certainly recommend

Reviewer:Mr. John Goldsbrough | Mon 19th Aug 2013


York - Rating 5/5

Great people, very welcoming. Lovely breakfasts. We had a brilliant stay in York. Beds were very comfortable.

Reviewer:Ms. Debbie Mcquillan | Sun 18th Aug 2013


old vic guest house - Rating 5/5

Excellent place to stay, Julie,Ian and there girlsare excellent hosts ,breakfast plentefull would reccomend staying here if in York.

Reviewer:Mr. Charles Byrne | Thu 15th Aug 2013


great stay - Rating 5/5

my wife and i enjoyed our stay very much we felt very relaxed and received a warm welcome from julie and ian and daughters hannah and hayley. oh we musnt forget leo the doggy.

Reviewer:Mr. PaulHolland | Wed 14th Aug 2013


york is ace! - Rating 4/5

the hotel is dead smart and very welcoming, its situated within 2 minuets from a fab walk along the river into town (about half an hour) and you can park which is great. The room was a little small but they are doing them all up one at a time then they'll all be dead smart. Oh and a great brecky.

Reviewer:Mr. Antony Jewula | Tue 13th Aug 2013


a great place to stay - Rating 5/5

we had a great stay,accomodation was clean and welcoming.julie and ian were very welcoming and helpful.the breakfasts were immense.i wld recommend the old vic to anyone.we wld definately stay again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Karen Smith | Mon 12th Aug 2013


Staying at the Old Vic Guest House - Rating 5/5

I had a very comfortable stay at the "Old Vic". As my room was on the 3rd floor the owner kindly took my bag upstairs for me.I enjoyed the chance to make a cup of tea on my arrival. The room was en-suite.The breakfast was very good and included a choice from the Full English which I appreciated. The service was very good too. The breakfast room looked out over the flowers in the garden;their were fresh flowers in the hall also which enhanced the welcome. I also was able to leave my luggage at the Guest House after checking out so I could do a little more sight-seeing unencumbered. I am happy to thoroughly recommend the Old Vic Guest House.

Reviewer:Sally Ball | Mon 12th Aug 2013


accommodation. - Rating 5/5

Very pleasant stay exellent breakfast and room.Nothing to much trouble.

Reviewer:Mr. Derrick Herberts | Fri 9th Aug 2013


The Old Vic - Rating 4/5

Great hospitality, breakfast and accommodation.

Reviewer:Mr. Simon Grayston | Mon 22nd Jul 2013


Three night stay - Rating 4/5

Enjoyed our stay. Good breakfast provided. Very pleasant and accommodating owners.

Reviewer:Mr. Trevor Grainger | Tue 16th Jul 2013


York races - Rating 5/5

We had booked in at the Old Vic as we were attending York races, it was evident from the moment we arrived that Ian , Julie, and family had created a warm and welcoming atmosphere, everything about the place was fantastic form room to breakfast, and fellow guests. Perfect location to walk into town or to the racecourse via the riverside paths and we will definitely return on our next visit to the city.

Reviewer:Mr. William Wood | Mon 15th Jul 2013


60th Birthday week-end - Rating 4/5

My daughter, friend and myself spent two nights at the 'Old Vic Guest House' and had a lovely time, made very welcome by Ian, Julie and family and were very helpful, could not do enough for us.

Reviewer:Brenda Moore | Tue 9th Jul 2013


The Old Vic Guest House, York - Rating 5/5

Had a most enjoyable stay.We were made most welcome and the house is very clean and well run.Liked the fact that the charge was per room and not per person as I and my friend both wanted our own rooms.The breakfast was excellent and it was very well placed for access to the city - a pleasant walk along the river or by a short bus ride.

Reviewer:Mrs. Judith Maddison | Mon 8th Jul 2013


Uni Open Day Visit - Rating 5/5

My daughter's wish to visit York University for their Open Day meant either a very early start, or an overnight stay.We chose the latter!The Old Vic Guest House is a comfortable, reasonably priced B &B.It is conveniently located to walk into the city centre, and also for the University.We walked into the city for a meal and it reminded me of what a beautiful city this is.I hope to return and explore again soon.We may well stay at the Old Vic again!

Reviewer:Mr. Tim Edworthy | Thu 4th Jul 2013


Superb - Rating 5/5

Dear Julie and Ian,I had the pleasure of staying at your guest house for the last two days/nights.Words cannot describe it, but I will try my best.The room was very clean, the bed was very comfortable.The bath was out of this world. The breakfasts were magic, very filling - so much so that I didn't need to eat until teatime.Julie, Ian and the staff make you very welcome (especially Leo!). I will certainly return to the Old Vic the next time I visit York, and I will recommend your good selves to my friends.Thanking you once again.

Response

hi Iain,I am very touched by your kind words, it makes all our hard work worth every minute, thank you so much, and we look forward to seeing you again, take care Julie

Reviewer:Iain Macmillan | Wed 3rd Jul 2013


Great short stay - Rating 5/5

Me and my girlfirend had an absolutely wonderful stay at The Old Vic Guest House. The staff were all very friedly and helpful and the room, food and quality of service were great and extremelly proffessional. Both of us would consider this establishment againwhen in York.

Reviewer:Mr. Luke Spooner | Sat 29th Jun 2013


Lovely stay. - Rating 5/5

We stayed one night at The Old Vic on a Wednesday. We found the B&B to be just what we needed for our little trip, clean, quiet, close to bus route into city, nice breakfast, friendly staff &a cute dog. If we were to return to York in the near future we would defiantly consider The Old Vic. Kirsty &Sam (Marsh)

Reviewer:Miss. Kirsty Marsh | Thu 27th Jun 2013


very good - Rating 4/5

Lovely room and lovely people. Would certainly stay here again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Vicki Robinson | Tue 25th Jun 2013


HAPPY WTH STAY - Rating 4/5

GOODFRIENDLY PEOPLE

Reviewer:Mr. Leon Gallivan | Wed 19th Jun 2013


leo - Rating 5/5

hi Julie, this is Sue one of the 4 guests you had for an overnight stay last Thursday. you were very nice to us and we all enjoyed our stay. We talked about your dad Stan Johnston but my friend Dennis who also worked at Kellogs can't place him. But at 84 I think it is most likely for him not to remember everyone he knew there. Margaret and I found Home Senses but they didn't have the dog that she admired on your front porch. She is going to keep a lookout around garden centres. Anyway should we find ourselves in York again we will be staying with you again. You made us feel very welcome and our rooms were lovely. thank you once again. Sue x SQueenti@aol.com . We are all on love with Leo too xxx

Reviewer:Mr David Timms | Sun 9th Jun 2013


york visit - Rating 4/5

very comfortable and nicely situated for all attractions in york. will certainly give you another visit.

Reviewer:Mr David Timms | Sun 9th Jun 2013


Weekend away - Rating 4/5

Stayed for two nights was welcomed with open arms! Very handy location 15 min walk ! 5min in a taxi and a nice walk on the river to the city if you wanted?The rooms are clean fair play we had a room on the side of the house so was a bit dark but are other friends had a pleasant room !! Otherwise they wear ok! The breakfast was lovely plenty of it shame it was only till 9am could do with been a bit later ? Overall had a very pleasant stay!!

Reviewer:Mr. Karl Ashworth | Sun 9th Jun 2013


Chilling in York - Rating 5/5

We booked the Old Vic Guest House as we were spending a few days at the Spring Food Festival in York.I haven't stayed in a Guest House for many years so wasn't sure what to expect.We were made to feel very welcome by our hosts (including Leo the dog) the room was small but clean,comfortable and well decorated.The sheets were lovely quality which makes a big difference to a good nights sleep. Great breakfast.The location was perfect, a 10 minute stroll down by the river taking us straight into the middle of town but very quiet.Would definitely be happy to return

Reviewer:Jane Ratcliffe | Wed 5th Jun 2013


york stay - Rating 4/5

i thought the hotel and rooms were lovely and the family that ran the the place were very welcoming and breakfast was loveley

Reviewer:Paul Slater | Mon 3rd Jun 2013


Friendly, clean, excellent breakfast - Rating 4/5

We stayed at the Old Vic Guest House recently for a long weekend in York.We were given a warm welcome and made to feel at ease and that we could come and go at own leisure.The room was very clean and tidy - we had quite a small double room, but it was adequate for our needs.The breakfast service was excellent, the full English was lovely and you can also choose other options if you don't feel like having a full breakfast.Orange juice, cereal, yoghurt and fruit also available and tea and coffee, so it set us up for the day.Once again, made to feel very welcome and relaxed.THe guest house is in a good location with a lovely riverside walk into town - took about 10-15 minutes, was very easy.

Reviewer:Mrs. Kathryn Reynolds | Wed 29th May 2013


Very Highly Recommended - Rating 5/5

On arrival, we were greeted in a very warm and friendly manner, and were assured of best intentions from the owners throughout our stay. The room was very clean and decorated to an excellent standard- plenty of space to relax in and unwind. The breakfasts were wonderful, with friendly banter with the owners making us feel that we weren't just paying guests. The location was perfect with just a short 10 minute stroll into town, or slightly longer if the riverside route was taken. A thoroughly enjoyable stay- we will be back!!!

Reviewer:Mr. Steve Davies | Tue 28th May 2013


Excellent accommodationWe - Rating 5/5

We had a very comfortable room.The location was very good enabling us to walk along the bank of the river to town.Could not be faulted.Breakfast with a good choice was also excellent.

Reviewer:Mr. Peter Staples | Sun 26th May 2013


Brilliant stay - Rating 5/5

Arrived to a lovely warm welcome. Lovely, cosy room and very clean. Great home cooked breakfast every morning. Really relaxing and friendly enviroment.

Reviewer:Miss. Rachael Mccoy | Fri 24th May 2013


enjoyed our stay.- Rating 5/5

welcoming hosts, clean and tidy room, great breakfast. a lovely simple walk from hotel along the riverside into the centre of york- about 15 mins. found easy, permit and ticket free car parking directly outside. great value for money. will go again.

Reviewer:Mr. Atis Krumins | Mon 20th May 2013


week end stay - Rating 5/5

our stay at the old vic was just what we wanted. very clean. excellant breakfast.our room was very nice and we were made to feel very welcome, nothing too much trouble.will be back.

Reviewer:Mrs Green | Tue 14th May 2013


Wk end in may - Rating 5/5

Just had a great wk end at the old Vic accommodation is a good size ,clean and just a nice stroll into the centre of York.greeted by a wonderful family who can't do enough to make sure your stay is great,from the greeting to breakfast and advice on where best to eat and drink . Thanks again for a lovely wk end .

Reviewer:William Dearlove | Mon 13th May 2013


Our Wonderful Stay - Rating 5/5

Thank you for our lovely stay. After getting married on the Saturday we chose to spend 2 night away in York as a pre honeymoon break.We stayed in Romm no.1 which is the luxury room and thats exactly what it was.The breakfast was lovely and Julie and Ian were perfect hosts.We have stayed here before and will definatly be back again.Thank you

Reviewer:Mrs. Sarah Melbourne | Wed 8th May 2013


would come again! - Rating 4/5

Came with my partner for the weekend as a birthday present. Really friendly atmosphere and happy to help with any queries. Even lent me a hair brush after i forgot my own! Good sized breakfast with toast and tea/coffee fill ups as needed. Would definitely recommend and will book again next time we visit York.

Reviewer:Vicky Young | Mon 6th May 2013


Group of adults- Very good stay! - Rating 5/5

Excellent stay! Wonderful decoration, extremely friendly and helpful owner and delicious breakfast!! Only potential problem for people with heavy luggage or elderly or people with kinetic problems the lack of elevator. If you are not in these categories, then it comes HIGHLY recommended! You will definetely enjoy Julie's hospitality!!!

Reviewer:Mr. Apostolos Lafkas | Sat 4th May 2013


Great stay - Rating 5/5

Really enjoyed our stay, very clean establishment run by very friendly people.

Reviewer:Mr. Neil Hakeney | Mon 29th Apr 2013


Cosy haven - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely weekend here- such a warm welcome in a traditional setting with quirky Victorian features. Breakfast was perfectly cooked too. Highly recommended!

Reviewer:Emily Parr | Mon 29th Apr 2013


The Old Vic- Rating 5/5

Stayed in the Old Vic for a Saturday night when out in York for the night.Was welcomed by a lovely young lady and a bouncing dog! Lovely room, clean sheets, tea/coffee what more do you need! Delicious breakfast the next morning and friendly staff. The owner was a real delight who took time to talk to us. Excellent place to stay, would highly recommend as only a ten minute walk into town and fantastic people. Thankyou!

Reviewer:Miss. Angela Farmery | Thu 25th Apr 2013


Great little place - Rating 4/5

The hosts were lovely and the room was a good size and very clean. Breakfast was tasty, definitely good value for money.

Reviewer:Miss. Amber Shaw | Mon 22nd Apr 2013


Excellent Stay!!! - Rating 5/5

The room was warm, clean and comfortable and I would happily go back, can't find a bad word to say about it!

Reviewer:Miss. Helen Edwards | Mon 15th Apr 2013


Weekend break - Rating 5/5

Found this on the web liked the look of it and it certainly lived up to the images and previous reviews. Excellent service, friendly and helpfulDelicious breakfast kept me going all day all freshly cooked.Close enough to the city to walk, alongside the river which was very pleasant as it is away from the trafficAs it was our anniversary we also wanted someone special to eat the family gave us a recommendation it was perfect Would have no hesitation in recommending this to family and friendsGood valueThank you to the whole family for such a pleasant stay

Reviewer:Mr. Christopher Horsfield | Tue 9th Apr 2013


- Rating 5/5

My partner and i thoroughly enjoyed our weekend stay at The Old Vic Guest House. The room was to a good standard, the breakfast was absolutely super. The owners were so friendly and were more than happy to help and support us during our stay.My partner and I will be returning to stay here during the summer.If its a cosy B&B you require by the river, close to the attractions, friendly staff and a super breakfast. i would strongly recommend.

Reviewer:Mr. Franklyn Barton | Wed 27th Mar 2013


Pleasant couple of nights! - Rating 4/5

Thanks very much for making our stay so pleasant! Run by a very nice family who were chatty and helpful. It was a nice 15/20min walk by the river into town for a bit of sight seeing and food. Great fry up for breakfast, to get the day started off well. Stayed a couple of nights, double ensuite room. A bit retro decor but nice firm bead. Value for money. All good! Would come back if in the area. Thanks Julie!! xx

Reviewer:Miss. Aunchalee Tubtimdee | Tue 19th Mar 2013


Perfect accomodation for visiting York - Rating 5/5

Very nice guest house just a short walk by the river away from the city center. The family makes a great effort to keep everything clean and to make the best of your stay. The room is very clean and the breakfast was very good especially they offer not just English breakfast but also fruits, joghurt and cereals. I would recommend it to everybody who likes to go to York and have a nice accomodation.

Reviewer:Miss. Gina Heinrich | Mon 18th Mar 2013


birthday stay4 - Rating 4/5

lovely, clean and quiet guest house. breakfast's, more than ample proportions. a happy family atmosphere. wouldn't hesitate to visit again. keep up the good work!mr m dimaline

Reviewer:Mrs. Cynthia Hunter | Tue 12th Mar 2013


Fantastic stay - Rating 4/5

My Husband &I had a fantastic stay at the Old Vic guest house. It is a lovely friendly family run hotel, nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast was fabulous each morning thanks Julie:) and Leo the dog was gorgeous. Great location only 10 minutes walk to centre, buses were really regular so no problems getting into town. Loved the breakfast room as decor really cute with lots of character. On road parking, no problem getting a space. Excellent value for money. Will be recommending to all our family &friends if they should be visiting York! See you soon if we visit York again :)

Reviewer:Chris Hefford | Mon 11th Mar 2013


- Rating 5/5

very neat and clean comfortable.

Reviewer:Mr. Tsukasa Nishikawa | Mon 11th Mar 2013


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

Our stay at the Old Vic was excellent from start to finish.Ian and Julie and their family are lovely and go out of their way to make you feel extremely welcome. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, the linen smelled lovely. The rooms have everything you need available from a hairdryer, welcome info and ironing failites right outside the door.W were also told that if we ran out of refreshments in our room just to ask for more, a first for any BB I have stayed in.If we had had a problem, which we didn't, I have no doubt we would have had it put right in a second.We came on this weekend to meet up with friends in York, the location is excellent.It gave us free parking, whee we parked easily on a Friday evening almost right outside the door.The walk into York was not even 15 minutes along the gorgeous river, we even did this in the evening no problem as it is well lit and a lovely walk with the bridge lit up. I have already recommended this B and B to some family and I know that I will be returning to stay with the children this year.There is no point looking elsewhere when the Old Vic is already perfect. Ian and Julie are fabulous at what they do.

Response

thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review , we really appreciate it. We look forward to seeing you and your children when you return.

Reviewer:Mr. CraigWood | Mon 4th Mar 2013


The Old Vic - Rating 4/5

Wonderful accommodation, wonderful food. Nice friendly atmosphere.

Response

Thank you for your lovely comments we look forward to seeing you again. Julie

Reviewer:Mr. Alan Doyle | Sat 23rd Feb 2013


Good- Rating 4/5

a clean room, friendly staffs, a nice breakfast. And a bus stop is close to the guest house. No7 bus takes you town centre, Rail and coach stations. Every 8min the bus comes. I felt comfortable.

Reviewer:Miss. RenaNishikiori | Fri 13th May 2011


Staying in York - Rating 4/5

Very pleasent with quite comfy room,good service &breckfast. Easy safe parking and handy for city centre 15 minuet walk or bus stop less than 50yards away 2 stops and in city.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jean Ottley | Thu 14th Apr 2011